August Foodie Pen Pal Package

31 Aug
Image
goodies from NYC!

 

Here is a picture of the contents of my first foodie pen pal package.  Each month Lindsay at the Lean Green Bean matches us all up with different people (the person you are sending to is not the same person who is sending to you).  To quote Lindsay, “the boxes are to be filled with fun foodie things, local food items or even homemade treats! The spending limit is $15. The box must also include something written. This can be anything from a note explaining what’s in the box, to a fun recipe…use your imagination!”

Maria from New York was my pen pal this month, and you can check out here blog here.  Maria sent some really creative and thoughtful things.  She included a jar of her home made arrabiata sauce, a jar of Brooklyn-made salsa that has coconut and other tropical flavors in it (haven’t tried it yet, but I am really looking forward to it), crispy chocolate chip cookies from Tate’s, and a little black book, which now lives in my diaper bag.  She also threw in a couple of beverage enhancer samples from her clients (Maria is in advertising).  I’m not a big beverage enhancer person but it was fun to have them and try them out.

All in all, I am a big fan of this pen pal thing.  (I’m not a big fan of the word “foodie,” and am reluctantly using it again and again and again because that is the name of the program – but it is a small price to pay.)  Molly, the person I was matched with in August, doesn’t have a blog, so I’m afraid she won’t be posting about what I sent her.  Since she lives in South Dakota, I thought she’d appreciate some items that I think of as very Californian.  I threw in a batch of home made coconut granola, California dates, my favorite iced tea from the Coffee Bean & Tea Leaf, some chipotle chile powder, and my guacamole recipe written on a post-it.

I am already looking forward to September’s package….

One Response to “August Foodie Pen Pal Package”

  1. Linda Willams August 31, 2012 at 5:32 pm #

    I hope your other followers are as excited and interested as I am to see the contents of your packages. What a very thoughtful group of items you received from New York, and i am sure the recipient of yours was happy with her California goodies. Thanks for sharing.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 101 other followers

