October Foodie Pen Pal

31 Oct

It’s Foodie Pen Pal reveal day!!  If  you’re just tuning in, every month now I participate in this program where I am assigned to a random stranger, and a random stranger is assigned to me.  We send packages of local goodies to our assigned pen pals, keeping the cost under $15.  It’s fun, and I have been exposed to some delicious treats (both sweet and savory) that I might not have discovered otherwise.

For October, appropriately (I suppose), my pen pal package was filled with desserts.  This package made me realize perhaps I shouldn’t be so laissez-faire when a new pen pal contacts me each month to ask if I have any dislikes or allergies.  I always say that I have no dislikes or preferences, since I generally like everything and want to see what people will send me.  This month, however, I think I went into sugar overload!  Don’t get me wrong, I really appreciate that Katie over at Simply Desserts put together a great package of goodies from Philadelphia, PA.  But it’s made me realize I can’t handle as many candies as I used to.  These are the treats that Katie thoughtfully sent for me:

Sweets Galore from Katie

The package included a variety of Tastykakes, Asher’s cherry cordial chocolates, and almond toffee.  The almond toffee was to die for, and I ate that way too fast.  Everything else was also tasty but a bit too sweet for me.  Apparently there is a limit to my sweet tooth!  So thank you, Katie, for introducing me to the sweets of Philadelphia (Na na na na na, na na na na na….) but from now on I think I will ask my pen pals to include no more than one sugary treat in a package.

Conversely, the woman I sent a package to this month (who once again does not have a blog, so I won’t get to see a post about what I sent someone yet again!) is on Weight Watchers, so I had fun putting together a package of healthy snacks for her.  I found what I think were some delicious items, and I really hope she likes them.

Onward and upward!  Now I’m looking forward to November’s exchange.

Looking forward to next month’s exchange.

One Response to “October Foodie Pen Pal”

  1. Linda Willams October 31, 2012 at 7:09 am #

    TRICK OR TREAT?????

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 100 other followers

