Salt and Pepper Kale Chips

30 Jun

before the shrinkage

When you belong to a CSA, you get a lot of kale.  It’s a fact of life.  And delicious and nutritious as kale may be, you start to get bored.  Well it seems that every food blog out there has posted a recipe for kale chips, so I don’t claim to be original in this regard.  But this is my simple and tasty method to turn a vegetable that might make you roll your eyes every time you open your CSA bag into something delectable.

Kale chips.  It’s a simple concept.  You season up some chopped kale and toss it with olive oil, bake it in the oven, and voila – a quick and easy snack.  What may not be so simple is how incredibly delicious it becomes.  If you even remotely, marginally, kinda-sorta like kale, I promise you will adore kale chips.  You’ll probably want to eat the whole batch in one sitting.  (Which is a good idea, because they get chewy when you store them).

I’m not kidding when I say it’s simple.  Here it goes, are you ready?

Salt and Pepper Kale Chips (makes about 2 cups)

and after. browned and crispy.

INGREDIENTS:

  • 1 bunch of kale, stripped from stems, coarsely chopped
  • 1 tbsp extra virgin olive oil
  • 1/2 tsp sea salt
  • 1/4 tsp freshly ground pepper

METHOD:

1.  Preheat oven to 425.

2.  Put the chopped kale in a large bowl and drizzle with the oil.  Season with salt and pepper.  Use your hands to toss everything together, making sure all the kale pieces get their fair share of the oil and seasonings.

3.  Spread out the kale on a baking sheet, careful not to overlap too much.  Bake for 10 minutes, tossing the kale about halfway through the cooking time.  Let cool slightly before eating.

7 Responses to “Salt and Pepper Kale Chips”

  1. Linda Williams June 30, 2011 at 6:05 am #

    No, you are not kidding, and these must be the healthiest chips in the Universe.

  2. France Morissette June 30, 2011 at 9:07 am #

    I’ve actually never tried making them but always wanted to. My attempt at making beet chips was such a disaster that I shied away from healthy homemade chips, thinking that was a pipe dream. These sound easy enough that I might even give them a try. And I do really like kale….

    • Laura July 2, 2011 at 12:12 am #

      I’ve been wanting to try beet chips too but have been scared! If you find a good method let me know 🙂

      • Catherine Sarchenko October 3, 2012 at 6:57 pm #

        I made beet chips in the oven and also in the dehydrator. The oven was yummier, but burn easily; you really need to watch them. The dehydrator cooks more slowly, but they didn’t get as crispy and took a lot longer. I just put olive oil, salt and pepper on them and cooked them for about 15 min at 425. I sliced them thin with a mandoline slicer. They actually taste like potato chips.

  3. Ruth June 30, 2011 at 11:53 am #

    How about other greens? Does it work for them too — like beet greens or collard greens?
    Wow — I’m trying this one. Thanks, Laura.

    • Laura July 2, 2011 at 12:12 am #

      I haven’t tried it Ruth, but I think it would. Beet greens and chard have a bit more moisture than kale, so I’m not entirely sure how they would come out, but I think collards would be fantastic for chips.

  4. Catherine Sarchenko October 3, 2012 at 6:59 pm #

    I am addicted to kale chips! They are amazing. I have never tried them in the oven. I do them in the dehydrator at 100 degrees to keep them “live”.

Leave a Reply

